Clifftop trainspotting on a summer evening.

One of our favorite places to go on a summers evening is along the clifftops. We get to see the trains running below while we play football until the sun goes down.

I wanted to take my camera for the first time in a long while, just to experiment and shoot the flowers.  It just so happened that my family were more co-operative when my camera wasn’t firmly attached to my mug! And so I took these photos within a different mindset, chilled out and from a place of gratefulness for the moment.  I really do find practicing a ‘quick draw’ technique is especially helpful when photographing Rufus because I can talk to him and be in the moment…then bang! Just took your perfectly framed and in focus photo with my quick draw action. And he didn’t even have time to realise and inevitably run off! Well that’s what I am learning  since taking a break from photography.  So give it a try, practice the ninja shot!

Also, I have never really used actions or presets to edit so I may do a little tutorial as to how I do a basic tidy up with a picture. Actually I’ll just tell you now as it is darn easy. I duplicate the image and go into blending options and select ‘screen’. That’s about it. If I need to sharpen up a picture I duplicate the image and go to Filters>Other>highpass and have it at about 11-30%. I then go to blending options and select soft light or hard light. Sometimes I go over the whole of this layer with the eraser, just leaving the subject sharpened.

Hope that was helpful, do let me know! And I hope you enjoy this mini photo series.

Love & Light     IMG_9472IMG_9474  IMG_9479 IMG_9482 copydgf    IMG_9536   IMG_9561IMG_9489 IMG_9578 IMG_9584 IMG_9585   IMG_9643IMG_9627IMG_9592IMG_9548

Louise

Leave a Reply

